Twenty Five Things

20 02 2009

I’ve been tagged in one of those Facebook meme things where I’m supposed to write 25 random things about myself and nominate 25 people to do the same. I thought I’d copy my 25 facts here.

1. I’ve had birthdays in 6 countries on 5 continents (UK, Australia, Outer Mongolia, USA, Mali and China)
2. I’ve lived in 4 countries, each on a different continent (UK, Australia, Hong Kong and Ghana)
3. I’ve never visited South America but would love to. It’s the only (inhabited) continent I haven’t visited
4. I’ve been to both Timbuktu and Outer Mongolia. In fact I’ve had birthdays in both places (40th and 31st respectively)
5. Sometimes when I’m in some strange country I secretly wish I was in my home in England, curled up with a good book. Sometimes when I’m at home in England curled up with a good book I’m secretly really satisfied
6. I never intended to travel much and don’t consider myself a good or natural traveller
7. My parents were (are) very religious, I grew up attending a charismatic (happy clappy) church
8. Food, drink and books are my weaknesses. Sitting in a restaurant alone with a tasty meal, good bottle of wine or beer and a cracker of a book is my idea of paradise
9. Melbourne was my favourite place to live
10. I may be the world’s worst romantic. I like the idea of being in a relationship but totally panic if it looks like I might stumble in to one.
11. According to Meyers Briggs my personality type is INTJ
12. I spent a lot of my childhood on my own, exploring the countryside/Brighton or reading
13. I was the 3rd of 4 children and get on well with all my siblings (as far as I’m aware).
14. I grew up by the sea and miss it. I love the impersonal power and immensity of the sea.
15. I love traditional English stodgy food – sausages, bacon, shepherd’s pie, steak and kidney pudding, treacle pudding, apple crumble etc.
16. If I were in a condemned cell my last meal would be Fray Bentos steak and kidney pie, oven chips and baked beans, with treacle sponge to follow
17. I like cabbage, Brussels sprouts, broccoli and the brassica family generally.
18. Bitter (warm, dark traditional English real ale) or gin and tonic are my tipples of choice
19. I didn’t fail a public exam until I was 23. Then I failed my driving test 4 times.
20. I’m pleased when I can make people laugh
21. I like the abstract idea of other people. I’m less fond of the concrete reality sometimes
22. I’ve studied Spanish in Madrid, Seville and Mexico but am still rubbish at it.
23. I love to dance, but wish I could dance properly (waltz, tango, salsa etc)
24. I hope I’m kind, but I think I can be pompous, clumsy and opinionated and I know that I’m still overweight, despite losing 15kg while in Ghana.
25. I feel uncomfortable with people or in situations I don’t know

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 02 2009
tangobob

I to have studied Spanish for years, and am still rubbish at it. You are not alone.
Dancing takes years, don’belive what you see on strictly.

21 02 2009
Anathema

I’m doing this list (cause I think is funny to do it). But I’ll schedule it as I do with all my posts :P.

PS: If you want me to help you with your spanish, just ask. And I’ll recommend you this site: Livemocha. It’s a good site to learn languages basics :)

23 02 2009
Tim Little

@Tangobob: Thanks for the comment, I’ve dabbled with lessons but ought to try harder. Perhaps when I get back from Africa

@Anathema (& TangoBob) My main problem with Spanish is that I don’t study long enough, I spend 2 weeks in a country then don’t have a lesson or pick up a book for 6 months. If I had the money and time I’d spend several months in South America studying Spanish so I could explore the continent.

Anathema – I’ll keep an eye out for your list but I’m afraid I’ll need Google to translate it for me.

Leave a Reply

