Another book list

17 10 2008

As well as books on international development I’ve also been reading novels by Africans or about Africa. Here’s a quick list, but I’d welcome suggestions:

Things fall apart – Chinua Achebe
Arrow of God – Chinua Achebe
No longer at ease – Chinua Achebe
Mine Boy – Peter Abraham
Houseboy – Ferdinand Oyono

A man of the people – Chinua Achebe
Anthills of the Savannah – Chinua Achebe
Half of a Yellow Sun – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

The Heart of the Matter – Graham Greene
King Solomon’s Mines – Rider Haggard

No.1 Ladies Detective Agency series – Alexander McCall Smith

I’ll admit to having enjoyed them all. The first five give a feeling for the experience of Africans under colonial rule; the next three explore post colonial Africa. The Heart of the Matter and King Solomon’s mines give (differing) views of the experience of the colonialists. Finally the No.1 Ladies Detective agency is a bit of fun that tries to describe an aspect of modern African life in a positive way.

Any suggestions or comments will be gratefully received.

Actions

Information

7 responses

17 10 2008
Book Reviews Online

Nice list, I’ve read Chinua Achebe – and I loved it :)

Nice site by the way…

18 10 2008
ourmanwhere

Dark Star Safari by Paul Theroux.

It’s rather good.

19 10 2008
Tessa

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – Purple Hibscus
This book is brilliant

21 10 2008
Anathema

I remembered you this last friday, I saw from J.M Coetzee “Foe”, and I just remembered this post.

27 10 2008
BamendaBabe

Buchi Emecheta’s book, set in colonial Southern Nigeria, is a very good one: “The Joys of Motherhood”

Also, Tsitsi Dangarembga’s book, set in Zimbabwe, is phenomenal: “Nervous Conditions”

Mariama Ba’s book, set in Senegal, is beautiful: “So Long a Letter”

If I think of any more books, I’ll be back.

Thanks for this list. I’ll be adding everyone’s suggestions of African authors and their books to my list and my own bookshelf. :)

27 10 2008
Tim Little

Thanks everyone. I’ve read quite a lot of Theroux but not Dark Star Safari, I’ve wanted to read Purple Hibiscus since I read “Half a Yellow Sun” and feel I ought to read some Coetzee. BamendaBabe’s lst is almost all new to me so I look forward to exploring it. My Amazon wish list is going to get longer!

30 12 2008
Reading recommended books « Tim in Tamale

[…] Little I’ve finally got around to reading a couple of the Africa related books that were recommended by blog readers a few months ago, with one or two lined up to be read when I get back. The two […]

Leave a Reply

