Black Ajax

15 07 2007

I feel that I’ve been really busy for the last few weeks, with Nick & Katherine’s visit, rushing around trying to get the Chinese visa and winding down at work, but I have had a chance to do some reading in the form of “The Black Ajax” by Geroge MacDonald Fraser.

I’m quite fond of Mr McDonald Fraser’s Flashman series of books (ok, I’ve read all of them) but this was fairly different.  It’s about the early days of boxing at the beginning of the nineteenth century, focused on a black American boxer.  I’m not a boxing fan at all but I enjoyed the picture of regency England painted.  The violence of the ring reflects a violence in the society, but the charm of the characters saves the book.  I’m not sure that Mr McDonald Fraser quite pulls off his attempt at different voices, but it is an interesting read.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

